Ichung’wa To ‘Cherera Four’: Resign And Save Us The Time

Kimani Ichung’wa, Majority Leader of the National Assembly, has called on the remaining three IEBC commissioners who have distanced themselves from the August 9 presidential results to resign as well.

Ichung’wa called on the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) deputy chairperson Juliana Cherera, as well as commissioners Irene Masit and Francis Wanderi, to join Justus Nyangaya, who resigned from the commission, during a thanksgiving ceremony at Embu University.

“I plead with you, spare Kenyans the time, spare us the money, spare us the effort please resign like Nyangaya did,” he said.

Ichung’wa made no apologies for his scathing remarks, stating that the three should not believe anyone who claims that protesting will save them from removal from office through constitutional means.

“Do not be misled by those who misled you earlier that they had power, they had systems and deep state to fix elections and overturn the will of the people. We know some of them are still misleading you today that they can stage demonstrations and rallies that can stop you from being hounded out of office through constitutional means,” he added.

“Protests will not lead you anywhere,” he told the opposition, who has planned to protest the three’s removal.

The ‘Cherera Four,’ as they are known, rejected the results that declared President William Ruto the winner of the contentious presidential election. At the time, the figures were referred to as ‘opaque.’

They have faced a barrage of accusations and counter-accusations since then, pitting Kenya Kwanza against the Azimio La Umoja Coalition.

Already, President William Ruto and Raila Odinga are at odds over the four.

This week, Ruto suspended the four election commissioners accused of acting erratically. His decision came after Parliament recommended that they be removed from office.

He then announced the formation of a tribunal to decide whether or not the four should remain in office.

The tribunal is headed by Justice Aggrey Muchelule, and the other members are Carolyne Kamende Daudi, Linda Gakii Kiome, Mathew Njaramba Nyabena, and Col. (Rtd.) Saeed Khamis Saeed.

Odinga has objected to the removal of the commissioners and the process being used to remove them, claiming that it will return the country to Moi-era laws.