IGAD Sends Election Observers To 11 Counties

Election observers have been dispatched to 11 counties ahead of the general election on August 9. 

Mulatu Teshome, the leader of the IGAD short-term Election Observation Mission (IGADEOM), dispatched the observers who will oversee the electoral process in the individual counties on Sunday.

The deployed observers will be stationed in Nairobi, Nyeri, Uasin Gishu, Nakuru Kajiado, Kisumu, Kisii, Kakamega, Machakos and Mombasa counties.

Teshome, the former President of the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia said the observers are representatives of electoral bodies and diplomats from six IGAD (Intergovernmental Authority On Development) members states: Djibouti, Ethiopia, Somalia, Sudan, South Sudan and Uganda

Adding that the deployment IGADEOM in Kenya is in line with IGAD’s mandate of promoting good governance, democracy, human rights and rule of law.

The mission will share its findings in preliminary statements and later final reports containing a more in depth analysis on the conduct on the electoral process, recommendations for future electoral process.