MPs Approve Parliamentary Service Commission, Waluke Abandoned

    The National Assembly voted without debate on Tuesday to approve the nomination of seven MPs and senators to serve on the Parliamentary Service Commission (PSC).

    The names were tabled by National Assembly Majority Leader Kimani Ichungwah.

    MPs Faith Gitau (Nyandarua), Mohamed Ali (Nyali), Mishi Mboko (Likoni), and Patrick Makau (Mavoko) have been approved, as have Senators Nderitu Kinyua (Laikipia), Fatuma Dullo (Isiolo), and Joyce Korir (nominated).

    The new members will be sworn in tomorrow, Wednesday, November 9, at County Hall, to begin their five-year term.

    When fully formed, the PSC will have 11 members who will pick the vice chairperson at their first meeting.

    Jeremiah Kioni, Secretary General of the Jubilee Party, paid a visit to Sirisia MP John Waluke in prison last week and handed him a letter from the party appointing him to the powerful commission.

    However, while National Assembly Minority Leader Opiyo Wandayi presented the Speaker with letters from Mboko, Makau, and Dullo, Waluke’s letter was missing.