Runners Kipkorir, Jebichi, break Standard Chartered Marathon title history

Brimin Kipkorir | PHOTO COURTESY

The reigning champion in the Standard Chartered Bank Marathon, Brimin Kipkorir from Elgeyo Marakwet has recaptured the Nairobi Marathon title.

Kipkorir, who won the event in 2017, outran Steven Kipchirchir at 35km to clinch victory in a record time of 2 hours, 10 minutes and 42 seconds.

In the womens category, Purity Changwony Jebichi who returned from a two-year maternity break won after steering clear at the 27km mark.

Kipkorir, who clocked 2:12:39 in 2017, added another feather on his cap for being the first athlete to ever recapture the men’s title.

The marathon that took place in Nairobi attracted people from all walks of life in Nairobi, in a bid to raise funds for a programme dubbed Future Makers, by Standard Chartered Bank.