Seven Premier League Clubs Opt Out Of 2023 FKF Cup

A total of seven Football Kenya Federation Premier League (FKFPL) clubs and a further 10 from the National Super League (NSL) failed to register for the 2023 edition of the FKF Cup that is penciled for Saturday 11 February kick-off.

Over the years a number of clubs from the top tier have sat out of the cup competition and this has not changed this time.

The 11 top-flight clubs that have confirmed their participation include Kenya Police, KCB FC, AFC Leopards, Bandari, Gor Mahia, Tusker, Kakamega Homeboyz, Kariobangi Sharks, Ulinzi Stars, Bidco United, and Sofapaka.

In the NSL Coastal Heroes, Darajani Gogo, Kajiado FC, Mara Sugar, Migori Youth, Mombasa Elite, Murang’a Seal, and Mwatate United are the only eight clubs to confirm their participation.

In Division One the number of clubs participating are only six and include Equity FC, Rainbow FC, Zetech Titans, Nyota FC, Sigalagala FC, and Luanda Villa.

Further down the football pyramid in the Regional Leagues Dero FC, Shalimar, Scarlet FC, Karatina Homeboyz, Bucks FC, Vickers FC, and Marula FC will enter the Round of 64.

Nzoia Sugar, Posta Rangers, Nairobi City Stars, FC Talanta, Wazito, Vihiga Bullets and Mathare United are the seven Premier League clubs that will not take part in the competition this year.

Bar Nzoia all the six clubs are battling relegation this season and would like to channel all their energies towards securing their top-flight status next season.

The Sugar Millers on the other hand are currently leading the log standings and would be excused for focusing on lifting their maiden league title.

The cup will be making a return after it was not held last season.

Tournament Schedule

2nd February 2023 – Round of 64 draw

11th – 12th February 2023 – Match Day One | Round of 32

28th – 29th March 2023 – Match Day Three | Round of 16

28th – 29th April 2023 – Match Day Four | Quarter Finals

20th May 2023 – Match Day Five | Semi-Finals

24th June 2023– Match Day Six | Finals