Former CJ Maraga Sworn In As Chair Of Police Reforms Taskforce

Former Chief Justice David Maraga has been sworn in as chair of a taskforce tasked with overseeing reforms at the National Police Service and the Kenya Prisons Service.

Maraga took the oath of office on December 21 alongside 22 other individuals appointed by President William Ruto.

Chief Justice Martha Koome presided over the ceremony.

In a gazette notice dated December 21, Ruto announced the formation of a 23-member task force, including three secretaries, tasked with identifying and recommending legal, administrative, and institutional reforms in the National Police Service and the Kenya Prisons Service to improve service delivery.

Other members of the team include Carole Kariuki, who is the Vice Chairperson, Moffat Muriithi Kangi, John Ole Moyaki, Ibrahim Jillo Guyo, Richard Kirundi, Elizabeth Mueni, Roseline Odede, Joash Odhiambo Dache, Doreen Muthaura, and Albert Mwenda.

The President’s taskforce also includes Terry Chebet Maina, Hassan Sheikh Mohamed, Capt. (Rtd.) Simiyu Werunga (Dr.), Mutuma Ruteere (Dr.), Anne Ireri, Stephen Kayongo, Jafaar Mohamed, Sammy Chepkwony, and Khadija Mire.

Omwanza Ombati, Joy Mdivo Masinde, and Rosemary Kamau are the task force’s joint secretaries.

The team will review and recommend improvements to the terms and conditions of service, as well as other reforms for NPS and KPS members.

The taskforce will recommend a review of police officer salaries as well as new and applicable allowances that will improve the professionalism, efficiency, and effectiveness of the NPS and KPS at the end of the review.