President Ruto Appoints 20 New High Court Judges

President William Ruto has appointed 20 new judges to the High Court.

The President approved all names forwarded to him by the Judicial Service Commission (JSC) in a special Kenya Gazette published on December 5, 2022.

“In exercise of the powers conferred by Article 166 (1) (b) of the Constitution of Kenya, I. William Samoei Ruto, President, and Commander-in-Chief of the Kenya Defence Forces, appoint (these judges),” the statement by the President read in part. 

Among the judges appointed include Gichohi Patricia Njeri, Mongare Josephine Wayua Wambua, Nyaundi Patricia Mande, Kavedza Diana Rachel, Chirchir Sophie Chebet, and Sifuna Nixon Wanyama.

Others are Shariff Mwanaisha Saida, Nyaga Heston Mbogo, Chigiti John Mugwimi, Mulwa Peter Mutua, Nthiga Lawrence Mugambi, Mutai Gregory, and Wananda John Robert Anuro.

Mohochi Samwel Mukira, Olel Francis Rayola Ochieng Odhiambo, Githiru Freda Mugambi, Magare Dennis Kizito Ng’wono, Macharia Florence Wangari, Odera Teresa Achieng, and VisramAleem Alnshir have also been appointed.

The Judicial Service Commission advertised for the position on March 14.