President Ruto Creates Climate Change Department

    President William Ruto has created a State Department for Environment and Climate Change to underline the government’s commitment to protecting Kenya from the adverse effects of global warming.

    The new department will sit in the Ministry of Environment and will house the department for Forestry.

    The change is contained in a new Executive Order issued on Monday.

    In the rest of the changes, The President has tasked Deputy President Rigathi Gachagua with driving reforms in the coffee sector, in addition to his previous duties.

    Prime Cabinet Secretary Musalia Mudavadi will oversee the delivery of Government services.

    The Ministry of Health will have two State Departments-Medical Services and Professional Standards, each with a principal secretary.

    Three state departments-Investments Promotion, Trade and Industry are in the Ministry of Investments, Trade and Industry.