President Ruto Makes New Appointments To State Corporations

President William Ruto has announced new appointments to key positions in various state corporations.

Through a gazette notice dated January 20, 2023, Abdi Bare Duale was appointed Chairperson of the Board of Directors of Kenya Electricity Transmission Company Limited. The prior appointment of David Azangu Ngaira has been revoked.

Charles Githinji has also been appointed to lead the Pharmacy and Poisons Board. As a result of this appointment, James Mandere Rogers Atebe’s previous appointment has been cancelled.

Sophy Nekoye Waliaula has been appointed as the Non-Executive Chairperson of the Youth Advisory Board.

Fatma Bakari Barayan has been appointed Non-Executive Chairperson of the Youth Enterprise Development Fund Board, while Phillip Mong’ony has been named Chairperson of the State Corporations Advisory Committee.

Each new appointment is for a three-year term beginning January 20, 2023.

In addition, President Ruto appointed Surum Ipato Korema to chair the Anti-Female Genital Mutilation Board in an effort to address the problem of female genital mutilation in Kenya. The six-year appointment, which begins on January 20, 2023, replaces Agnes Mantaine Pareiyo.

The Cabinet Secretary for Roads and Transport, Kipchumba Murkomen, has also announced the appointment of five new members to the Kenya Ports Authority Board of Directors. Musa Osman, Emmanuel Kibet, Caroline Njoki Maina, Consolata Lusweti, and Lucas Maitha will take office on January 23, 2023, for a three-year term.

Previous appointments of Lydia Yator, Stephen Gichuhi Gichohi, Conrad Thorpe, Farida Abdalla Sud, and Nilfat Kassim Ali have been revoked.

Susan Wafula, Cabinet Secretary for Health, in another notice has revoked the appointments of Paul Magutu Njaria, Dorcas Wanjiru Ngechu, John Munguti Kisengi, Miriam Wairimu Ndirangu, Stephens Ogutu Oyaya, and Diana Marion to the Pharmacy and Poisons Board. This revocation will become effective on January 20, 2023.