President Ruto Suspends The ‘Opaque Four’

President William Ruto has suspended four electoral commissioners accused of gross misconduct and violation of the Constitution.

Juliana Cherera, Justus Nyang’aya, Irene Masit, and Francis Wanderi will remain out of office pending an investigation by a tribunal chaired by Justice Aggrey Muchelule.

Their suspension paves way for investigations into their conduct by an eight-member tribunal after disputing the August 9, 2022 presidential election results announced by IEBC chairperson Wafula Chebukati.

The accused group had alleged that Chebukati altered the results in favour of President William Ruto, and as a result, disenfranchising Ruto’s main competitor Raila Odinga.

At the same time, President Ruto announced the formation of the tribunal in a Gazette notice.

The Justice and Legal Affairs Committee recommended on Thursday the formation of a tribunal to investigate the four commissioners and their immediate suspension from office.

The Head of State directed the tribunal to expedite the probe and submit its report to him.

During the suspension, the four commissioners won’t be allowed to dispense their duties but will be paid half of their monthly salaries.

The tribunal can recommend the commissioners’ sacking or full reinstatement.