17.8 C
Thursday, September 16, 2021

High Court revokes new Land Commission officials nominated by the President

Must read

Uzalendo Newshttps://uzalendonews.co.ke/
Do you have a story that you think would interest our readers? Write to us 'info@uzalendonews.co.ke'

The High Court has moved to stop the swearing-in of the new National Land Commission members, awaiting a court notice on the status of activist Okiya Omutata ‘s case against the new members.

The nine commissioners, Mr. Gershom Otachi, NLC chairman, and Ms. Esther Murugi, Prof. James Tuitoek, Ms. Gertrude Nguku, Mr. Reginald Okumu, Mr. Kazungu Kambi, Ms. Tiyah Galgalo, Ms. Hubbie Al-Haji, and Mr. Alister Mutugi, were gazetted by the president after being approved by Parliament.

Omutata argues that the committee selecting the commissioners did not follow due process, citing that the results of their interviews were not released.

He also added that the committee ommitted stakeholders from the selection committee that jotted the nine members.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article