President Uhuru Advertises 4 Vacancies for New IEBC Commissioners

Interviews to fill in vacancies of four Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) commissioners is set to begin soon.

President Uhuru Kenyatta issued a statement calling for the appointment of new officials to fill the vacancies created by the resignations of four commissioners in 2018.

“IN EXERCISE of the powers conferred by section 7A (2) of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission Act, 2011, I, Uhuru Kenyatta, President and Commander-in-Chief of the Kenya Defence Forces, declare vacancies in the positions of four members of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission.”  a gazette notice dated 16th April 2021 read.

After the contentious departures of Roselyn Akombe, Paul Kurgat, Margaret Mwachanya, and Consolata Maina from the electoral commission, the electoral agency has not been completely constituted.

Meetings to address key challenges have not been held due to a lack in quorum of the commissioners.

The four’s departure had been shrouded in controversy because, the High Court declined to declare the IEBC illegally constituted because the affected commissioners had only “resigned through a press release rather than writing a letter to the appointing authority.”

The fallout left the commission with its Chairman, Wafula Chebukati, Prof. Abdi Yakub Guliye and Boya Molu.