Kajiado Governor Joseph Ole Lenku and his counterpart H.E Samuel Ole Tunai have today signed a Cooperation Agreement that now paves the way for the operationalization of the Economic Block.

This Agreement, among other things, has created several structural committees that will be used to prioritize and focus on key Social Economic needs of people from both counties.

These are ;

(i) THE SUMMIT: This comprises of Governors from both counties.

(ii) THE COUNCIL: This is the policy organ of the Block. It will comprise of the two County Secretaries, Finance CECs and the CEO of the Block.

(iii) PILLAR COMMITTEES: These will be a CEC Members caucus from both counties of departments that are critical to the counties.

(iv) THE NAKAEB ASSEMBLY FORUM: This will comprise Speakers, Majority Leaders, Majority Whips from both Counties and representatives of Women and Disabled Persons from the respective Assemblies.

(v) THE NAKAEB ECONOMIC COUNCIL: This will be chaired by the chairman of the Block.

It will comprise of representatives of the above organs as well as representatives of the Private Sector, Academia, CEO of a regional bank in the economic Block and an Economic Expert.

Counties have formed blocs largely due to their historical, political and economic similarities. The following six (6) blocs have already been established though mutual understanding between the various counties;

Frontier Counties Development Council (FCDC) comprising of seven (7) counties namely; Garissa, Wajir, Mandera,Isiolo, Marsabit, Tana River and Lamu. 

North Rift Economic Bloc (NOREB) comprising of seven (8) counties namely Uasin Gishu, Trans-Nzoia, Nandi, Elgeyo Marakwet, West Pokot, Baringo, Samburu and Turkana. 

Lake Region Economic Bloc (LREB) comprising of thirteen (14) counties namely Migori, Nyamira, Siaya, Vihiga, Bomet, Bungoma, Busia, Homa Bay, Kakamega, Kisii, Kisumu, Nandi, Trans Nzoia and Kericho.

Jumuia ya Kaunti za Pwani comprising of six (6) counties namely, Tana River, Taita Taveta, Lamu, Kilifi, Kwale and Mombasa

South Eastern Kenya Economic Bloc comprising of three (3) counties namely Kitui, Machakos and Makueni. 

Mt. Kenya and Aberdares Region Economic Bloc Comprising of ten (10) counties namely Nyeri, Nyandarua, Meru, Tharaka Nithi, Embu, Kirinyaga, Murang’a, Laikipia, Nakuru and Kiambu.